Strategic Growth Council 2010 Funding Recommendations for Prop 84 Sustainable Communities Planning Grants

The Strategic Growth Council received $94 million in requests for approximately $23 million in available funding under the Sustainable Communities Grant Program created under Proposition 84 in 2009 — with 153 applications completed and deemed eligible for scoring, per the Program Guidelines.  The Application Review and Ranking Committee, comprised of 30 interdisciplinary staff, recommended 44 applicants. Total amount of recommended awards for this funding cycle: $23,050,485. The Planning Grants and Incentives Management Team at the Department of Conservation provides their recommendation report to the Strategic Growth Council here.

The Grant Program Includes Three Focus Areas:

  • Focus Area #1: Local Sustainable Planning ‐ Eligible Applicants: Cities and Counties
  • Focus Area #2: Regional SB 375 Plus ‐ Eligible Applicants: Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs)
  • Focus Area #3: Regional Planning Activities with Multiple Partners ‐ Eligible Applicants: Cities, Counties, Regional Transportation Planning Agencies (RTPAs), Joint Powers Authorities (JPAs) and Councils of Governments (COGs).

Focus Area #1 Recipients (24 out of 100 selected)

  • Concord
  • Richmond
  • Arvin
  • Monterey Park
  • Santa Monica
  • Mendocino County
  • Merced (City)
  • Town of Mammoth Lakes
  • Anaheim
  • Dana Point
  • Calimesa
  • Chino Hills
  • Victorville
  • San Diego (City)
  • San Francisco
  • Stockton
  • San Luis Obispo (City)
  • San Luis Obispo (County)
  • South San Francisco
  • Morgan Hill
  • Capitola
  • Santa Cruz (County)
  • Yolo
  • Yuba

Focus Area #2 Recipients (8 out of 11 selected)

  • Metropolitan Transportation Commission –Association of Bay Area Governments

  • Tahoe Regional Transportation Planning Organization

  • Monterey Bay Area Association of Governments

  • Sacramento Area Council of Governments

  • San Diego Association of Governments

  • San Joaquin Council of Governments (8 MPOs)

  • San Luis Obispo Council of Governments

  • Shasta County Regional Transportation Planning Agency

Focus Area #3 Recipients (4 out of 18 selected)

  • Kings County Association of Governments
  • Western Riverside Council of Governments
  • Sacramento County
  • Riverbank (City)

Economically Disadvantaged Community (EDC) Recipients*

  • Fresno
  • Calipatria
  • Corcoran
  • Los Angeles (City)
  • South Gate
  • Adelanto
  • Stanislaus
  • Farmersville
  • Kings County Council of Governments
  • San Joaquin Valley COG (8 MPOs)
  • Sacramento Area Council of Governments
  • Tahoe Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • Yuba County
  • City and County of San Francisco
  • Richmond
  • Mendocino County
  • Town of Mammoth Lakes
  • Calimesa
  • Victorville
  • San Diego (City)

*An EDC may be a community or neighborhood within a city or county. Italicized communities above reflect those selected as “EDC Set-Aside Awards” not within a Focus Area (8 out of 24 selected)

Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>